Skip to main content
Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Get up to $500 when you bring your phone. Plus, get the incredible iPhone 13 Pro on us. Online only. With select 5G Unlimited plans. Ends 12.5. Buy now
end of navigation menu
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
***Announcement: Early next week, we’ll be merging the current Fios and Wireless Communities into the all new Verizon Community! Beginning the evening of Sunday 12/4, both Communities will be placed in read-only mode. You’ll still be able to visit the Communities and browse content, but login will be disabled. On the afternoon of Monday 12/5, all users will be able to log into the new Verizon Community. We expect the new Community to be fully functional the morning of Friday 12/9. Additional details can be found in the Announcements board and under Featured Topics!
4G and Fireall
sundance

I am a rank newbie to computers and Verizon.  Have used Iphone tethered for last 4 months and decided to go to Verizon when 4G was announced realizing 4G was in only a few large cities.  Since we spend perhaps 3-6 months in those cities per year we thought it would be a good switch from AT&T rather poor service in some of the outlying smaller communities.  After having mucho difficulty getting the Pantech UML 290 set up and activated, I spent hours with two seemingly knowledgeable technicians trying to figure out why I could not log on.  Finally after dealing with problem till 11:30 PM I went to bed.  Next morning I decided to turn off firewall and try to connect.  It connected immediately and was as fast as my old land line DSL.  Wow, was I ever impressed.  Unfortunately the high grade engineer with Verizon in New Jersey was not able to tell me how to connect with my Windows Firewall turned on.  I do have Verizon Access Manager program as exception to firewall along with portable wireless devices.  Nothing seems to help resolve how to keep connection when the firewall is on.