Pantech UML290 WMC2002 error
zoso20
Newbie

Had a user bring in his laptop that has been working finefor a couple of months with aPantech UML290. Friday it would  not connect and it now gets a WMC2002 error. I am not able to find any info on this error.

 

Any ideas or pointers on how to solve this one?

 

Laptop stats;

IBM Lenovo R61

Win XP SP3

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Reply
1 Solution
DionM_VZW
Verizon Employee

Thanks! I also got your personal message and replied. Please have a look at it and let me know. Thanks!

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Reply
23 Replies
willzzz99
Contributor - Level 3

Uninstall VZAccess completely and all iterations of it.

 

Install the latest VZAccess for the card from http://www.vzam.net.

 

It should work now, if it prompts you to do a firmware update, DO IT, then reboot when it tells you to.

 

Even when all set and done reboot the computer and it will work fine.

0 Likes
Reply
zoso20
Newbie

Did all that and rebooted and I am still getting the same error.

0 Likes
Reply
willzzz99
Contributor - Level 3

Do a SIM card reset as it will FORCE it to redo all the settings fresh from the VZW network.

 

Shut-off computer. Take USB modem out. Remove SIM card physically. Wait 10 seconds. Put it back in. Put modem back into computer. Boot computer.

 

0 Likes
Reply
zoso20
Newbie

still getting the same error after the force reset

0 Likes
Reply
jamiechan0723
Newbie

I am an Indirect Agent for Verizon wireless.  This fixed the problem I was having and I really appreciate you posting.

0 Likes
Reply
DionM_VZW
Verizon Employee

Great troubleshooting, community members! Zoso20, if this hasn't been fixed yet, please send me a personal message with your name and phone number. Thanks!

0 Likes
Reply
rcleveland
Newbie

I work for a Non-Profit, and they just got a bunch of these.

 

The very first one I tried to install keeps giving this error message no matter what I do.

 

Have un-installed, re-installed, sim remove and re-insert, nothing.

 

Have changed USB ports, did the firmware update (on very first install, has not asked about it again).

 

Odd thing is, that there is now a network port accociated with it, and it keeps going into a disabled state.

 

It is getting really annoying.

 

I have about 10-15 of these yet to install on other systems, and if a solid solution is not available I am going to recommend they just return all of them and keep the 3G cards we have now.

 

I am not impressed so far with this card.

 

 

0 Likes
Reply
DionM_VZW
Verizon Employee

Thanks! I also got your personal message and replied. Please have a look at it and let me know. Thanks!

0 Likes
Reply
dsm382
Newbie

I just tried everything i see here and it fixed the first error message but now i have this one  the WMC2002

how do i get past it ?

0 Likes
Reply
dsm382
Newbie

DOH!! that's what I get for trusting the folks in OUR office they tell me everything.

 

I just got off the phone with Dion and he was VERY VERY helpful.

 

turns out it was NOT a Verizon problem, it was our company had not activated this card yet.

 

I am up online working.

 

Once again thank you to Dion for all the help and the VERY QUICK response.....

0 Likes
Reply
JLC_Clovis
Newbie

Thanks for this helpful forum! Just got my new Pantech modem, ran through the installation and kept stalling at the connection with a WMC2002 error. After reading the messages here I realized what had happened--turns out that I'd neglected to call and activate it. Du'oh, indeed! The telephone support rep was great and now I'm up and running with blazing speed. Between this forum and the Verizon telephone support what could have been a very frustrating Friday night has turned into a very pleasant one.

0 Likes
Reply
DionM_VZW
Verizon Employee

And I'm thankful to you all! I hadn't any idea what Error WMC2002 meant until this came up! Have a great day everyone!

0 Likes
Reply
marjac
Newbie

I have an activated UML290 Worked fine fo awhile. Last night I got booted offline 5 times. Getting a bunch of erros. Well...that did not take long...got booted off writing this post.

 

I have gotten..no sim card error...took out rebooted, ect.

 

WMC2002 error. restart..error gone.

 

And error 1324  when I try to ugrade Vcast manager. Acting strange. I get an error too when I connect as it tries to discover data useage.

 

Frustrated. Any Verizon rep here that can help? This is a new device, about 1 week old. Worked great until last night. Now, all kind of errors.

 

thanks,

 

Mark

ps. downloaded latest vcast from http://vzam.net  but it will not install. I get an error on a mydocuments file.

0 Likes
Reply
marjac
Newbie

been kicked offline 4 times since I wrote post...in a half hour. 

 

Got error code wmc104

 

useage code wmc1097

 

along with the other codes.

 

 

 

 

0 Likes
Reply
c1823a
Newbie

Hello, new to the forum but I had the same WMC2002 error message today.  After rebooting the computer and still getting the same error, I opened VZAccess Manager again and clicked the "Detect Device" button at the top right of the window.  I then instructed it to scan for all devices (or something like that, don't remember exactly what it said but it was obvious and simple).  After that it connects fine and I don't seem to be having any problems.

 

I don't know if this will help everyone but maybe there are a few out there like me and it will correct your issue.

 

Regards.

0 Likes
Reply
sbchung611
Newbie

Good afternoon Dion!

 

Would I also be able to PM you check my activation? I am receiving this same error but I'm unsure of the activation status. Thanks!

0 Likes
Reply
DionM_VZW
Verizon Employee

sbchung611 wrote:

Good afternoon Dion!

 

Would I also be able to PM you check my activation? I am receiving this same error but I'm unsure of the activation status. Thanks!



Hi sbchung611! I would welcome a PM!

0 Likes
Reply
toughbook
Contributor - Level 1

Just think about all the people that come on to this forum and scream and yell that it's all Verizon's fault that the modem does not work and come to find out it's on there end! At least the members in this thread are man enough to admit that it was there end. God forbid some come on here and say anything positive.

 

Here is my speedtest reading that is pretty much consistant all day long.

 

http://speedtest.net/result/1418682460.png

0 Likes
Reply
CitYteCh81003
Newbie

Hi - I just received 2 of these USB modems for some laptops I am working on. I changed them both to 3G. One of them seems to work great. The other I keep getting the wmc2002 error. I have tried uninstalling and reinstalling the driver.  I have tried the hard SIM reset by taking the SIM card out for 30 sec. and I am still getting the error.

The only thing I haven't tried is updating the firmware, It seems like there were mixed responses to that attempt in that some it fixed and some made things worse.

Any assistance would be awesome.

0 Likes
Reply
tdrknt1
Newbie

Not sure if this will help or not. Recently working on a customers computer Windows Xp sp3 would get error 2114 connection error with the pantech ulm290. This was solved once I went to My computer then to Program files then to to verizon folder to the firmware folder click on the .exe firmware upgrade. After this was done the drive installed on reboot and connected fine to the internet. Hope this helps... . 

0 Likes
Reply