Reality check: LTE range and speed in rural central IL
restlessbee

Hi there,

I am currently an out-of-contract AT&T customer, planning to switch providers when the new iPhones become available. I live in Chicago, but spend a lot of time in rural central Illinois--outside a town called Shirley, a few miles south of Bloomington-Normal. The DSL connection there is sub-horrible, barely a step up from dial-up; average download speeds are 0.9 Mbps, and upload, 0.1. I'm a web designer and developer, and need to be able to work down there, and there are times when those speeds make it impossible.

So, in shopping for a new provider, my primary criterion is 4G/LTE availability at this location, so I can tether to my iPhone and do my work. http://opensignal.com/ shows the nearest Verizon tower as being a little less than 5 miles away as the crow flies; both a Verizon sales rep and a Verizon tech confirmed this today. There don't seem to be any other towers in close enough range that I'd benefit from any mesh effect. This being central Illinois, the terrain is extremely flat all around--a plus. However, it's also extremely windy, and most houses of a certain age have substantial windbreaks--groves of tall trees--surrounding them. And guess where the windbreak is relative to the tower?

overhead.png

Not so good. Some of these trees are quite substantial--I'm bad at guessing heights, but maybe 50, 60 feet?

Leaving the trees out of the equation for a minute, because I didn't mention them to the people I spoke with--I was told that, even 5 miles away, even if my phone only had one bar, I could still expect 5 Mbps – 12 Mbps down (this is coming from a tech support person, not a sales rep, FWIW). From what I've read about LTE range, this seems like cloud-cuckoo land talk to me--I'm not really buying it. That said, I'd be ecstatic, and more than capable of doing my work, if I got, say, 3 Mbps down.