Advice on what phone to get
Snowball1976

I would appreciate any help. I am a physician and I basically use by smartphone for work. I have multiple medical applications on the phone. I have used a palm TX for a long time. I brought a Blackberry Storm. I am now ready for a new phone. The Blackberry storm did not work well for me because it lacked enough memory. I still have to use my Palm TX. Most of my applications use main memory and not the sd card. For my next smartphone I need more main memory. I think the storm has 256. When I reviewed the other phones I like the palm or the droid, but the memory issue is confusing to me. They discuss ROM memory RAM memory and flash memory. I already know that the sd card is not very useful for me, but I am unsure which palm or droid has the most "main memory" for my applications.  I also like going onto the internet and getting Emails and Text messages on my phone. Which phone is best for me between the palm or droid lines.  Thank you 

0 Likes
Re: Advice on what phone to get
Not applicable

Do you know for sure if your apps will run on a Droid?

0 Likes
M91-30
Contributor - Level 1

on phones, at least from what I've seen, program memory, aka main memory can be used along side SD cards. but in short, RAM is what the program runs in temporarily, the ROM is where the root data is stored (the operating system and stock apps). my omnia 2 gives me 8GB of program memory, and like 256 MB of RAM, then I have an 8GB card in the phone, giving me over 16GB of space to use for apps, music, videos, ect.... ROM does not matter to you as an end user,

0 Likes
Snowball1976
Yes they will. The applications are epocrates, skyscape, merckmedco. They either support droid or they have beta projects that will shortly support droid. It is the direction they are headed. Will the flash memory help? I am unsure if flash memory is "main memory" or not?
0 Likes
Not applicable