Privacy
christiemx

I'm new to the world of technology.   I recently purchased a Motorla Droid and it has been quite a challenge to figure out the functionality, your blogs have helped tremendously.  I have spent days trying to figure out how to erase the history from the maps app and you solved that problem for me in a matter of mins.   Thank you.

I noticed that the apps on this phone (free and paid) allow for what appears to be a very serious intrusion into your device.  For example;  the verizon wireless app can access your personal info, phone calls, data storage, etc??  Is there a way to prevent this kind of access?   Do other phones capable of downloading apps allow for the same type of intrusion?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Privacy
Art010606
Enthusiast - Level 3

wow. paranoid much people? big brother is watching you? ha!

dont know about Vz specific apps but i know the T-mo apps and google apps in general in some cases do need location consent and apps like sherpa (which i think might be tmo only) is an app based around location and your prefrences specificaly. but if you dont like the access thats required you can decline installing. you also have to realize just because your starbucks locator app wants location consent doesnt mean the man is going to be tracking where your recieving your mocha lates from so if they need to find you for the grand departure they can make contact. it needs it to find out where your at. if your downloading visual voicemail yes it needs access to your contacts so that when you use your visual voicemail it will tell you who it was that called and their call back info.

if your really this paranoid to ask these questions, then any cell phone is not good for you unless its over 5 years old.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
FredCDobbs