shaun912, we truly understand your concern. We know how important your personal information is to you. We would never want you to lose it. If you do a hard erase, you are completely deleting everything in the device. If you do not backup your information, you will lose it. We always recommend backing up your device before doing a hard reset. Does this provide clarity for you?
Follow us on TWITTER @VZWSupport
If my response answered your question please click the _Correct Answer_ button under my response. This ensures others can benefit from our conversation. Thanks in advance for your help with this!!