Messages are awesome and we want to make sure we get the messages sent to the right device. In order to do so the old phone needs to be turned off. If you are needing to keep the old device on still, we encourage you to turn messaging off under Settings. This will prevent any more messages being sent or received on the old device.
Follow us on twitter @VZWSupport