Voicemail Notifications
smessen
Enthusiast - Level 2

I just received my new iPhone 4s (previously using Droid Incredible) in the mail. I am not that tech savvy, but managed to activate the phone and have been using it for a couple of days. However, I am not getting voicemail notifications. I went through the settings and have an alert selected and am using the default greeting. My sister has left two trial voicemails and I did not get notification for either. I was able to call my voicemail and easily listen to her message. Any tips?  Thanks!

Labels (2)
Tags (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Voicemail Notifications
smessen
Enthusiast - Level 2

Initially, as I said, I was receiving voicemails but no notifications. That lasted about a week. Yesterday, my voicemail box disappeared. I tried calling *86 and entered my phone number and was told there was no associated mailbox. So I broke down and called customer service.

I dialed *611 to speak with customer service. The first person I spoke with was unable to fix the problem and almost immediately transfered me to a different service department. In order to get things fixed, the second service person needed to call me on another line ... so, make sure you have another line available before you call customer service. She told me that the voicemail on the iPhone opperates on a different system so requires new activation. After a couple of minutes, she had me dial *86 on my iPhone. It went straight to voicemail and asked for me to enter my password. Fixed! I told her I previously had problems with notifications so she called my cell phone (while I was on the other line with her) and left a message. A few seconds later I got notification! Fixed! I was very impressed with customer service this time around ... quick fix! (Of course I called at 7am ET so that might have something to do with it ... ).

View solution in original post

kaebfly
Champion - Level 3