Re: Blackberry Curve 8530 overheating
Zink71

I am an IT admin for a small company.  I have seen this happen to 3 devices now !  (two of which came from the same Verizon store)

All Curve2 , 8530 units.  It is definitely not a software problem.  Verizon and RIMM support have no idea what I am talking about.  They should admit that this is a serious issue.  This "short" in the unit is dangerous.  I have never felt a device get so hot in my life.

If the battery is the issue, then its causing the phone to die a quick death.

0 Likes
Zink71

I think the problem is that Verizon just replaced the device, and yuo keep your old battery.  Then the old battery causes the new phone to short out, as well. 

0 Likes
Ms_Parker

It's definitely the phone...

My 8530 got warm a few times but it always cooled off in the two months I had it.

Last Wednesday it overheated to the point of barely being able to touch the battery to take it out, so I went to a Verizon store and the rep there told me it was a common occurrence. The phone wouldn't hold a charge and when I put a fully charged battery in from another BB Curve (I still have my older version), it'd zap that battery in a matter of minutes.

I asked her if it was the battery and, if so, just give me another one. She assured me it was the phone malfunctioning not the battery but she thought just the initial batch of 8530s, so she ordered me a replacement one. I asked her how she knew the replacement wasn't from the original batch and she said she didn't but hadn't heard any problems about the replacements short circuited.

Got the phone on Thursday evening. Friday morning it overheated. I took the battery out. It cooled off, would again hold a charge but wouldn't make calls. Went to another Verizon location and requested a different model because noone could guarantee that the replacement which would arrive 4 days later wouldn't have the same issue.