Travel Overseas Italy: Comprehensive Task List
writer_sam
Enthusiast - Level 2

I will be traveling to Italy in January from my base in New York. Since this is my first time taking a Verizon phone overseas, I have spent some time researching the Verizon web site to prepare myself for a journey with minimal problems.

You’ll find my resulting notes below. This research might be helpful for others who are planning an overseas trip. Even if it is not to Italy, you may want to answer the same questions for your destination country.

If you spot any errors, please post corrections.

I have a Blackberry Storm 2 which is one of Verizon’s global phones. That means the hardware (the installed SIM card)  is already programmed for international use.

Here is Verizon’s website with information on using a global phone while traveling internationally:

http://b2b.vzw.com/international/Global_Phone/index.html

Verizon also has created a useful Trip Planner here:

http://www.verizonwireless.com/b2c/tripplanner/tripplannercontroller

Those web pages provide the following information about travel to Italy:

Before leaving the U.S.

1) A few days before departure, call Verizon and have them activate your SIM card for “international voice roaming” as well as “international data roaming” if you plan to use the phone to access data. This can be done by calling Verizon customer service at 800-922-0204 or *611

EDIT: Arrange for the SIM card activation to begin a few days before you depart. That way you can call Verizon before you leave and make sure they have actually activated the card.

2) Dial *228, press SEND, and select option 2 to update your roaming capabilities.

3) To save some money on voice calls, sign up for the GSM voice value plan (see details below.)

EDIT: Arrange for the GSM voice value plan to begin a few days before you depart. This will allow you to call Verizon before you leave and make sure the plan has actually been initiated.

Voice calls: