BBM data usage
mrlnrxn

I am about to receive my Blackberry 9650 in the mail. I am concerned about my data usage because it is not unlimited (it is 150 MB/month).

I don't think i will be using Facebook too often, other than to do mobile uploads.

for Twitter i plan on mostly only updating my status maybe once or twice a day.

I DO plan on using a lot of BBM.

How much data can i expect to use?

Regularly, how many MB does BBM use for a very frequent user?

Thanks in advanced!

PS: if there are any tips that someone can give me for using a Blackberry, i would appreciate it as I am brand new to the BB world!)

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: BBM data usage
RCA

I have never measured BBM data usage but if I had to guess it would only use a few K not MB to send messages, you should be fine. I dont use Twitter but i cant imagine that it gobbles up MB just to update.

What I would do is, get the 150mb plan and after a few days check your usage online. I really think you will be ok. In my opinion, BlackBerries are not data hogs.

0 Likes
OsheaG
Contributor - Level 2

The data usage on smartphones can vary from time to time depending on it's usage.  If you feel that the $15 data package for 150 mb per month is not enough, you can always upgrade to our Unlimited Data plan.  Also, I recommend using our Data Calculator, it can give you an estimate of your predicted usage and can help to determine a Data Package that is right for you.  Here is a link to the Data Calculator for you: http://www.verizonwireless.com/splash_includes/datacalculator.html

0 Likes
budone
Legend

But the data calculator really is not relevant to a BB as data is handled differently.  On a BB data is compressed.

0 Likes
jlee7
Enthusiast - Level 3