Blackberry Bold Media Card Backup
FreonJohn

I'm new to the Blackberry (Bold 9650), so I might be missing what I've been looking for.  Most of the time, when I start, and particularly reboot my device, it always comes up with the message saying that the new media card has errors and asks if I want to correct the errors.  Then it asks me if I want to save lost clusters.

A service tech told me to back up my data card to the computer and then reformat my card.

Questions:

1.     Is the data card and the media card the same?

2.     Will all data, including video and pictures be saved?

3.     How do I save it to the computer?

4.     This is a brand new phone with card.  Why is it damaged?

Thank you for any advice and help you can give.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Blackberry Bold Media Card Backup
SuzyQ
Community Leader
Community Leader

FreonJohn wrote:

I'm new to the Blackberry (Bold 9650), so I might be missing what I've been looking for.  Most of the time, when I start, and particularly reboot my device, it always comes up with the message saying that the new media card has errors and asks if I want to correct the errors.  Then it asks me if I want to save lost clusters.

A service tech told me to back up my data card to the computer and then reformat my card.

Questions:

1.     Is the data card and the media card the same? Yes, the two names are referring to the same thing.

2.     Will all data, including video and pictures be saved? That depends on how much damage there is to the card, if there is any.  Correct errors, save lost clusters....sounds like a bad card.  Data may or may not be recoverable, and all you can do is try.