As I understand it, a contact is linked to an email account the first time you send an email using that contact. After that an email sent to that contact will default to that email account. This is kind of a neat feature, unless you want to no longer use that email account. Have you tried deleting that email account and then sending an email to that contact? It would probably revert to your default email account then.