Changing LAN IP address on MiFi 890L
ttrayer

Greetings,

I make my living setting up networks so I'm not a newbee.

All I want to do is change the IP address of my LAN, not the WAN I don't want a static IP.

I get an idiot message that says your address needs to be 192.168.1.0, that's the whole problem.  I need to change the 3 octet so it doesn't conflict with a remote VPN network.

Is there anyone out there that has a hack / workaround for this besides buying a wireless extender and making another route?

Thank you

0 Likes
Re: Changing LAN IP address on MiFi 890L
John_Getzke
Champion - Level 1

Hello,

To change the local IP Address

1. Navigate to the default gateway (192.168.1.1) in a web browser

2. Sign in with the credentials posted to the back ot the device

3. Navigate to Router > LAN

4. Change the IP Address field to whatever you like

5. Click Apply

For more info see page 21 of the MiFi 890L User Guide:

http://cache.vzw.com/multimedia/mim/vzw_890_jetpack/eufi_890_manual.pdf

Let us know if you need more help.

0 Likes
rickdeg

Thanks John,

I tried that, a dialog box appears and says please enter in an address that looks like 192.168.1.x.

What I can only assume is from a support perspective they don't want users to mess with it, but it's really messing me up!

I tried to download the config file and see about modifying it but they have encrypted it since people were getting away with hacks etc on it.

I didn't fatfinger anything, I've got a strong grasp on IP'ing devices.

I have tried every way possible way to get it changed but it will not let me.

I wouldn't mind doing a firmware update or rev back two or 3 to get it to work but I don't really want to brick the thing since my customer is out of state.

Any other ideas?

Thanks you

0 Likes
John_Getzke
Champion - Level 1