Does MiFI work in Iraq?
ajay708

Hello all, I'm an active duty soldier in the US Army currently serving in Iraq and kuwait. Wifi networks are hard to come by out here so I've been doing some digging and research which led me here. The MIFI service from verizon sounds perfect for my needs but my question is can it be used overseas in countries like Iraq and Kuwait? If so what are the plans and can a unit be shipped out here? Thank you for the support and i hope to get an anwer soon. Thanks again.

0 Likes
Re: Does MiFI work in Iraq?
PDCLarry
Contributor - Level 1

You've hit upon a very politically sensitive issue. There was congressional lobbying 7 years ago to force Iraq to support a CDMA cellular infrastructure, which was partically successful. But I believe that most of Iraq and Kuwait are GSM, which means that the MiFi won't work everywhere.

In addition, even if it did, it is locked to Verizon and you would have to pay ridiculous Verizon roaming rates to use it there. You are better off getting a quad band unlocked GSM MiFi, which are widely available in Europe.

0 Likes
willzzz99
Contributor - Level 3

It would be EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE (like $20.48 a MB) already if you used VZW-Vodafone's roaming in Iraq which is GSM. There is NO CDMA roaming in Iraq anyways considering I don't think a non-stable country will join the Syniverse roaming CRX but the GSM carriers there would.

0 Likes
ajay708

Thanks for your suggestion, but could you please explain in more detail what a "quad band unlocked GSM MiFi" is and how does it work out here in Iraq? I'm new to the whole MiFi community and am trying to learn as much as possible about it because it sounds like the network of the future, but only in the prestages. I really wish internet was better out here but we have no other choice but to use what we're given. That's why I'm searching for alternatives.

0 Likes
PDCLarry
Contributor - Level 1

ajay708 wrote: