I am out of contract. Paying month to month. Can I get a netbook just for signing a 2-year contract?
andresmh

I currently use Verizon Broadband wireless on my Thinkpad X300. When I purchased the laptop it came with an internal built-in 3g verizon card. I've been using it for almost two years and I love it. I want to continue using it on this laptop. I checked with Verizon and I do not have a contract anymore. I could cancel my service with no cost.

My question is: can I get one of those free/cheap netbooks for just signing a 2-year contract? Note: I do not actually want to use the laptop to connect to Verizon's 3G network, I want to continue using my Thinkpad notebook for that.

Is this possible, and if so, how do I go about doing it? I went to a Verizon store and the guy was very confused about me using my own laptop without an external USB antenna and basically said "no" just out of confusion.

Thanks!

0 Likes
Re: I am out of contract. Paying month to month. Can I get a netbook just for signing a 2-year contr
larrytheG

perhaps the question is - can someone own two 3g note/netbooks and use the same Verizon Data Plan?  I know they won't let you do it with a UM-175 and a MiFi2200 unless you want to go to their website and change the device registration to switch back and forth but you cannot simultaneously use a UM-175 and a MiFi2200....  

is this true of all cell phone plans?  isn't this why people by wireless cellular routers like the cradlepoint?

anyone know why Verzion does this?

0 Likes
Re: I am out of contract. Paying month to month. Can I get a netbook just for signing a 2-year contr
JB21386
Contributor - Level 1

Verizon will not let you use two devices on the same mobile broadband account. You can if you are using one of their USB modems, but not if you are using a device that is internal. I tried and tried, they would not budge :smileysad:

0 Likes
dgbianch77