MIFI 4510L and xp
tohowalk
Enthusiast - Level 2

After much discussion with Verizon tech support, my Samsung sch-lc11 has been replaced with a 4510L and external antenna. While my previous connection problems have largely been resolved, I have a new one. My backup computer running Windows XP SP3 refuses to connect to the 4510L - I get a message "limited or no connectivity". I have tried several solutions with no success. The root of the problem is that I can not obtain an automatic IP address with this machine, and manual configuration does not work either. I welcome all suggestions and ideas.

Tom

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: MIFI 4510L and xp
tohowalk
Enthusiast - Level 2

So on a whim, I started playing with wireless connection settings. I turned the 4510 down from wpa2-AES encryption to wpa - tkip, and my XP-SP3 machine connected just fine. I thought SP3 added WPA2 support, but I guess not - go figure. All is now well.

Tom

View solution in original post

0 Likes
tohowalk
Enthusiast - Level 2

So on a whim, I started playing with wireless connection settings. I turned the 4510 down from wpa2-AES encryption to wpa - tkip, and my XP-SP3 machine connected just fine. I thought SP3 added WPA2 support, but I guess not - go figure. All is now well.

Tom

0 Likes
Not applicable

Tohowalk, thanks for sharing your problem and the resolution for anyone else that may be experiencing this issue!

0 Likes
dmocken