SCH-LC11 from Google IO conference
rickenator

I picked up a free Samsung SCH-LC11 last week at the Google developer conference, and it comes with 3 months of free service. Very nice indeed, I am an Android/iOS developer, and am personally mobile all the time. Since my home Verizon DSL service stopped working last month, probably a house wiring issue, I've considered becoming completely wireless and moving to the LTE service entirely. It is getting great performance in my area.

But for a couple of issues:

1. When this free contract runs out, what are my options to continue service? Am I going to be capped? I need unlimited data for one flat rate. I would like it to be within the price range I have for my current broadband and capacity, like near $40/month unlimited. I also have 3G from T-Moble and it is great, for about the same rate. I would like to consolodate into a single grand unified broadband service. How close can I get to that? I'm sorry if this was covered in the keynote speech or somewhere, but I can find no references.

2. I understand that the spectrum was purchased from the FCC with the provision that Verizon (nor anyone) can not limit the kinds of applications that use the service, except for routine network maintenence, however I can not connect to my company's SIP trunk, and there is really not a lot of discussion why ports are being blocked, that doesn't sound unlimited to me and sounds like a violation of the public trust agreement. Am I mistaken?

Thank you for your comments fine people of the forum!

0 Likes
Re: SCH-LC11 from Google IO conference
PDCLarry
Contributor - Level 1

I can't answer all of your points, but as to "unlimited" it is not. Usage is not capped, but you can subscribe to several different plans depending on your usage. The highest plan is 10 GB/month, and you then pay per GB after that. Check out the plans on the VZW web site for details.