can two computers on a home network access the internet through a wireless card and how if so?
bbpierce

I am a complete newbie at this stuff.  I have a laptop that has a wireless card and another computer at home.  I have a router, a linksys wireless n home Router that is set up and both computers can access it.  The computer that doesn't have the verizon wireless card in it can't reach the network.  Is it possible to do this or am I trying to do something that is not available.  Thanks for any information.

0 Likes
Re: can two computers on a home network access the internet through a wireless card and how if so?
Not applicable

The easiest way would be to purchase a CradlePoint router and plug your Verizon card into the router.  I got mine here  http://moremobileinternet.com/

0 Likes
Re: can two computers on a home network access the internet through a wireless card and how if so?
Greg4Wireless
Enthusiast - Level 3

Yes, a 3G mobile broadband router, such as the CradlePoint would be the best.

I got a CradlePoint CTR350 recently at BestBuy for $69.99.  It works great.  you just plug the USB modem into its port,

and it does all the rest.  there is ONE lan port where you could plug in your desktop if you were hard-wired.  Laptops

and other wireless devices connect thru the b/g networking.  the CTR350 does not support "N". you can also setup

security, and much more.  I was amazed by the simplicity.

The other way to enable sharing between the modem is to enable ICS(Internet Connection Sharing)...which would mean

that the PC or laptop that the USB modem is plugged into NOW acts as the server for the connection., but you would still

need a router(hard or wireless) for the other wireless devices to connect to.  The settings are a little tricky to configure.

So, if you have a few extra bucks to spend in your investment, go with the CradlePoint!

0 Likes
bbpierce