Members of the Verizon Communities can retrieve, view, change, reset and download their community content and personal information. Members can also delete their personal information by closing the account.
Your Ability to Access: You have the ability to request access to your community content and personal information. Community Members can do this by logging into your Community Account and navigating to My Settings > Personal > Personal Information and clicking “My Community Content” and “My Personal Information” under “Downloads.”
Your Ability to Delete: You also have the ability to delete your personal information by logging into your Community Account and navigating to My Settings > Personal > Close Account. You can also send a private message to the moderation or admin team for assistance as needed.
Your Ability to Correct: You also have the ability to view and edit your personal information by logging into your Community Account and navigating to My Settings > Personal > Personal Information / Download. There you can make changes to any personal information and click save to complete the correction. You can also edit any community content you had previously entered. Within My Profile, you will see Latest Contributions. Clicking on the post to be edited will take you to the actual post within the discussion topic. From there you can select Edit from the hamburger menu to make any changes or corrections.
Your Ability to Appeal: Colorado, Connecticut, and Virginia residents have the right to appeal our process for responding to your privacy request, or a specific response to a privacy request you have exercised. Virginia residents may submit appeals starting on January 1, 2023. Colorado and Connecticut residents may submit appeals starting on July 1, 2023. For your appeal, please submit a privacy inquiry form.
Here are some screenshots on how to retrieve, view, change, reset, download personal data and close (delete) account:
My Settings > Personal > Username
Members can view, change or reset their username by making the change and clicking on Change Username / Reset.
My Settings > Personal > Email >
Members can view, change or reset their email by making the change and clicking on Save / Reset.
My Settings > Personal > Password
Members can change or reset their password by adding their current password, new password and verify password and clicking on Change My Password or Reset.
My Settings > Personal > Personal Information / Download
Members can view and edit their personal information (ex: first name, last name, signature, title, location, personal web page, biography, private notes, IP address and device ID) by making changes and clicking on Save.
Members can download their community content / personal information by scrolling to the bottom of the page, where there is an option to download their community content / personal data.
My Settings > Personal > IM Screen Names
Members can view, edit and reset their IM screen names (ex: ICQ number, AIM screen name, MSN Messenger screen name, Yahoo ID, Skype name notes, IP address and device ID) by making changes and clicking on Save / Reset.
My Settings > Personal > Auto-Signin Options
Members can turn off Auto Signin for all computers or for this computer only by clicking on the respective option.
My Settings > Personal > Close Account
Members can close their community account. Personal information deletion, when exercised, will permanently anonymize the personal information of the member and attribute the content to an “Anonymous User”. The “Anonymous User” will have a standard “Anonymous” username and a default avatar to distinguish it from other users.
Members can also ask the moderation team / community admin team to close their account via private message.
After you close your account, you can't re-open it. If you later decide to re-join the community, you must re-register and start from scratch. Closing your account will immediately log you out.
As a Data Processor/service provider, Khoros is only permitted to follow the instructions of the Data Controller/business (Verizon). So, availability of a feature to the end-user will be dependent on the Data Controller/business (Verizon) enabling it. Verizon has this functionality enabled for all its members.
Note: The data that is deleted when closing an account is only the PII of the Member, while the members’ contributions (ex: posts, comments, kudos, etc.) will be maintained as and associated with an Anonymous username. The close account will trigger a downstream handling to purge the PII data at the Khoros Community Analytics level as well.
Moderators, Admins, and Social Media Agents are trained to advise members of the Community to send a personal message to the moderation / admin team for assistance in closing their account upon their request.