New to Smartphones...a couple of questions about charges!!!
tana_2002

I am new to smartphones.  I have a Droid X and am on the Share Everything plan.  When I have the Wi-Fi connection turned on, am I charged extra for this, or does it take up part of my data plan amount?  Or is it included in the cost of the plan?  I just want to be sure there are not going to be any additional "hidden" charges/surprises when I get my bill--it's high enough as it is!!!!!!  TYIA!

0 Likes
Re: New to Smartphones...a couple of questions about charges!!!
mdram4x4
Champion - Level 1

by wifi do you mean allowing other things to access your internet?

or are you accessing the internet from a wireless router on the phone?

0 Likes
tana_2002

I'm accessing the internet on my phone from a wireless router

0 Likes
Jakeman1
Master - Level 1

Using Wi-Fi on your device is something you are NOT charged for.  It does NOT use your minutes or your Data. The only time you would be charged for anything Wi-Fi (and you do not need to worry about this) is if you have an older plan and are using your device as a Mobil hotspot where other devices connect to your phone for Internet access or making your phone the Wi-Fi onramp for them. In that case you would be charged for the Mobil Hotspot as well as possibly some data going through the Mobil Hotspot.

0 Likes
tana_2002

Thank you!

My phone also has a 3G Mobile Hotspot icon on it--would I be charged for using this one?  It's kinda confusing because there's a place where I can turn the Wi-Fi on or off (I only turn it on when I want to access the Internet or download an app) and then there's this hotspot icon in the apps section.

0 Likes
PJNC284
Master - Level 2

Mobile hotspot is included at no additional charge on Share Everything plans.  Any usage just subtracts from you pooled data allowance.

0 Likes
tana_2002

Thank you all for your help!

0 Likes
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

Congratulations on your new smartphone, tana_2002!