Droid RAZR Maxx Cracked screen
TMregan

I'm still living with my cracked screen Razr Maxx.  At least it still functions as a phone.  The old thread that talked about this topic is closed out, but I'm now trying to see about a new screen.  After reviewing the feedback that has been posted, I had to comment further.  The comments that indicated people did not care for their phone was condescending and frankly out of line.  I am a material scientist.  I design the windows and domes that are used in ballistic missile defense systems.  I would classify myself as a "materials expert".  The idea that a super strong material can break in two pieces or four pieces for that matter is a joke.  Sorry folks it does not work that way.  Strong materials are strong because they can deform while storing the energy that is being put into them.  Gorilla glass is glass, but if it has flaws in it they become the limiting factor in the materials overall strength.  There are serious strength limiting flaws in gorilla glass if it breaks with few long fractures.  When a good technical ceramic material breaks there are many tiny pieces and more cracks than you can count.  This is because the glass stored the energy from being deformed and then the energy was released at failure.  My screen with 3 two inch long cracks had the strength of tissue paper.  To go into the store and then be told that you must have done something to cause the failure is at the least demeaning, leaving you to feel like a dirt ball who cannot take care of the property.  Verizon seriously let a lot of people down by refusing to support their customers and instead supporting their vendor.

Labels (2)
0 Likes
Re: Droid RAZR Maxx Cracked screen
TJinNOVA