Duplicate Text Messages for Voice Mail Notifications
DMacL

I am very new to FiOS Digital Voice. 

I was testing out some of the features and turned on Text Alerts for Voice Mails.  I am getting duplicate messages (two messages for every voicemail received).  The messages basically come together - exactly at the same time.  

I am using a non-stock text message app on my Android device (Handcent SMS) and I know that this CAN be a problem, but I checked all the settings and the stock text message program is set to be "turned off" and I am not receiving duplicate messages with any other service that provides alerts.

Any ideas?

0 Likes
Re: Duplicate Text Messages for Voice Mail Notifications
Anthony_VZ
Master - Level 3

To see if this is related to your phone, try temporarily putting in a friend or family members cell and leave a few test voicemail messages to see if it duplicates on their phone. Please post back if any additional help is needed.

0 Likes
DMacL

Good suggestion Anthony.

Tried it and isolated it to being my phone.  

I checked and I am getting the double text message in both the stock text app and Handcent.

Any other ideas?

0 Likes
Anthony_VZ
Master - Level 3

This does not rule out the handset itself, phone line, or carrier. Are you able to test with a different telephone number?

0 Likes
DMacL

Sorry for the late reply...

I tested with a different number, different phone, etc. and only one message is produced.

The only scenario that appears to produce duplicate messages is:

HTC Thunderbolt (not rooted) on Android 2.3.4, with both the stock text message program or Handcent SMS.

So it is either

(a) the combination of phone/software.

(b) somehow my cell number is in the database twice  (I have tried deleting it and re-adding it).

0 Likes
Hubrisnxs
Legend

is the sender the same on both messages?  

usually one will say callassistant@ and one will say fiosadmin@

which are you getting,  or is it a different sender name altogether?

0 Likes