Will IoT devices work properly in the G3100 guest Wi-Fi subnet?
jlg21
Enthusiast - Level 3

I’m new to FIOS and to the G3100 router and am trying to configure a home local area network (LAN) that previously used Cox Communication.   If I put my Internet-of-Things (IoT) devices on the G3100 Wi-Fi guest subnet, will they be able to see each other?  And do they need to?

All I know now is that a computer connected to the default guest Wi-Fi subnet (192.168.200.x) can ping other devices on that subnet but cannot browse to the gateway.  So I know there are some barriers but not total isolation.  I don’t see anything in the G3100 management console that controls whether devices are isolated from each other, either on the primary or guest subnets.  If you know where those control are, please tell me.  But the question here is where to put IoT devices.

I think the FBI is right to ask all of us to isolate our IoT devices on a separate subnet from our communication devices.  Even if I didn’t agree with the FBI, I would probably follow its advice since it’s not just my safety involved. 

But I don’t see anything on the Verizon support web site or in the G3100 manual about the best way to do that.  And I’m not a network expert.  It seems like a huge management chore involving individual MAC addresses to isolate a subnet within the primary G3100 default subnet.  I don’t even know if it’s possible.  But it would be easy to put them into the G3100 guest Wi-Fi subnet.

The problem is that it's a lot of work reconnecting each device just to find out they won't work together.  IoT devices like Amazon Alexa smart speakers, Home Life SmartPlugs and Google Nest smart thermostats and smoke detectors need to communicate with one another to work properly.  I think that communication has to be within the LAN subnet, but I’m not sure.