IMG 1.7 Experience
Justin46
Legend

As of this morning, Tuesday 9/29/2009, the new 1.7 level of the IMG is available in North Texas (and I presume also Calfornia). I thought perhaps it might be a good idea to have one thread where we can identify new, improved, or fixed items in the IMG.

I have not yet had time to really explore and see what is new, but here is what I know so far:

1) The level is 1.7 Build 09.82

2) It is on both my SD and HD STBs, although it took a call to the FSC and some time before it appeared on the HD DVR.

3) The STBs were left powered on last night, they were powered off after the update.

4) My Favorites survived the update intact.

5) My recordings on the DVR survived the update intact.

6) The Guide is still in 4:3 format, displaying 90 minutes of programming, don't really see any changes yet.

7) VOD works, seems to be slighter faster starting up, but that may be my imagination.

😎 I don't notice any changes to the Widgets, although I rarely use any of them.

That's about it for now. Hopefully others will chime in with their experience.

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416, IMG 1.7, Build 09.82
Keller, TX 76248

142 Replies
CraigM
Newbie

We have had 1.7 for over a month in Portland, Oregon.  It HAS corrected my previous "handshake" problems, and I don't see any of the other problems mentioned here.  The guide is widescreen, but not in a stretched manner:  looks good.

TV is a Samsung LED, STB is the 7216 connected via HDMI cables thru a Denon amp.

Craig

0 Likes
Reply
ctmancix
Newbie

I have the 7216 HD-DVR that has recently been updated to Release 1.7 Build 09.83.  Prior to the update, my complaints were few…a few playback bugs like playback hanging, volume changing to very load near the end of a recorded program, brief audio dropouts.  Most of these were remedied by turning the unit off and back on.  

However, since receiving the 1.7 update, I'm ready to chuck the thing out the window.  My issues:

  1. Changing channels now has a significant delay (2-3 time longer than before).
  2. The guide stretching issue that everyone has mentioned.
  3. Worst of all, on two occasions in as many days, a recording (which completed recorded normally), was unable to play no matter what.  

Anyone else have these issues?

0 Likes
Reply
StuffOfInterest
Enthusiast - Level 3

I have a Motorola 7216 DVR hooked up to a Sony STR-DG1200 receiver which then goes on to a Sony BDP-S360 Blu-ray and KDL-46XBR9 TV.  Before the DVR came into the equation Sony Bravia Sync was allowing control over HDMI between the three Sony components.  When I first hooked the DVR up under IMG 1.6.2 there was absolute chaos with Bravia Sync.  Most of the control commands did not pass through or the behavior was unpredictable.  Even with Bravia Sync turned off I was having HDMI handshake issues between the DVR and receiver which would cause frequent video blackouts.  This finally let me to switch the DVR over to components, as was recommended by several people including Verizon representatives.

Fast forward to IMG 1.7.  After the DVR updated I decided to give it another go via HDMI.  At first things looked much better.  Most of the HDMI control commands would pass through and the HDMI handshake issues from the DVR to the receiver were gone.  Unfortunately, other issues became visible.  Some of the HDMI control signals are still getting lost, in particular volume control from the receiver using the TV's remote.  Additionally, it now appears that HDCP (copy protection) handshaking is now broken, between the Blu-ray player and the tuner!  With the DVR hooked up, the Blu-ray player will only send 2-channel audio to the receiver.  Once the DVR's HDMI cable is unplugged the Blu-ray player sends full 5.1 sounds again.

All of this has led me to switch back to component video with a digital audio feed.  Hopefully a future update will fix this once and for all as it bugs me to know end that I'm taking digital cable and converting it to analog video just to turn around and convert it back to digital for the run from the receiver up to the TV.

0 Likes
Reply
scorp081
Enthusiast - Level 1

@maxp:

I've been getting a ton of wrong programs recorded by my Tivo the past couple months. I wrote it off as Tivo having bad guide data, but now I want to try your test and see if I can change channels on the hour manually. Ughh.... this 1.7 has been atrocious overall!

0 Likes
Reply
mike_b1
Enthusiast - Level 1

SInce the 1.7 upgrade I get a du1 error whenever I turn on the dvr/stb.  The HDMI appears to now be an issue.

0 Likes
Reply
matcarl
Master - Level 1

That's not an error code, it's supposed to do that.

0 Likes
Reply
justdigi
Contributor - Level 1

At 6AM this morning, my HD DVR did some kind of update, I assume 1.7.  The display showed a spinning cursor and dl for about 10 mins, then rebooted.

Now the box is almost a paperweight...  It comes on and gets a picture, but the display is stuck showing the channel number, channel changes take 10 or so seconds, the remote is nearly unresponsive (can't even use the channel numbers), and I can't get to the menu/recorded shows/etc.

Physically rebooting everything (STB & modem) didn't help. 

0 Likes
Reply
justdigi
Contributor - Level 1

Ok, it wasn't 1.7 it was some generic 'IMG Update' according to the menu.

I finnaly got the box to respond by mashing buttons.  Eventually some kind of 'parental control' setup came up.  I set/cancelled that and still nothing. A few more buttons later and the box powered itself off, and the time display popped up.  Normal functions resumed.

0 Likes
Reply
MadInFla
Newbie

Verizon tried downloading 1.7.1 version of the IMG in FL & PA. Didn't work for HD/HD-DVR boxes. They had to roll back the revision. I had no TV service for over 6 hours. Looks like they didn't test the new revision thoroughly, before they sprung it on the unsuspecting customers.

0 Likes
Reply
Justin46
Legend
from 2/10/2010:

@MadInFla wrote:

Verizon tried downloading 1.7.1 version of the IMG in FL & PA. Didn't work for HD/HD-DVR boxes. They had to roll back the revision. I had no TV service for over 6 hours. Looks like they didn't test the new revision thoroughly, before they sprung it on the unsuspecting customers.


2/18/2010: Verizon apparently updated the IMG code to 1.7.1, Build 9.97 in PA and FL this morning. Hopefully this is an updated and better version of 1.7.1 than was downloaded on 2/10 to PA and FL. Anybody in these areas have any info about good/bad/new functions, etc?

__________________________________
Justin
Verizon FiOS TV, Internet, and phone
QIP6416-P1, IMG 1.7C, Build 09.83
Keller, TX 76248

0 Likes
Reply
stilholm
Enthusiast - Level 2

Got 1.7.1 around 5:00 p.m. today (2/18).  Can't say much about any other features, but the guide went back to 4:3 mode rather than filling up the screen on a 16:9 HDTV.

0 Likes
Reply
demonstr8r
Enthusiast - Level 3

@stilholm wrote:

Got 1.7.1 around 5:00 p.m. today (2/18).  Can't say much about any other features, but the guide went back to 4:3 mode rather than filling up the screen on a 16:9 HDTV.


That's classic !!!

So many people were making claims in this forum that the move to stretch the guide in IMG 1.7 was in preparation for true 16:9 guide.  What a crock!

0 Likes
Reply
sharpie958
Newbie

I want my 16:9 guide back.  This native format (4:3) with the 1.7.1 release stinks.

0 Likes
Reply
jvolino
Enthusiast - Level 2

I received the 1.7 update a few days ago and this seems to have resolved my issue with "green screen" connection failures over HDMI on my QIP-7216 home media DVR.  I briefly tested hooking up the STB directly to my 2009 TC-P42G10 Panasonic plasma TV and that worked (it didn't before) and then I moved it to go through my 2009 Onkyo TX-SR707 receiver and that's working, too, unlike before.

I do hope that eventually the 16:9 presentation won't merely be a stretched 4:3 view, as the text now doesn't look very attractive nor is the extra width being exploited.

0 Likes
Reply
Caps09
Specialist - Level 2

My HDMI seems to be working now too, hopefully no more issues with the green screen. No caller ID option yet though for VHO9.

0 Likes
Reply
prisaz
Legend

Anyone know if 1.7 does anything to the 2500 SD boxes? I guess I need to go up stairs and look to see if they got the push. My Tivo HD didn't. haha

0 Likes
Reply
Jh28wd40
Enthusiast - Level 2

Well, I just received my new IMG on my HD STB. Now my STB is only showing a white with black text parental control menu.

I tried soft reset - no go

I tried the STB reset on the self support site - no go

I believe I will be calling for a new box tomorrow , it looks like I have a paper weight right now.

At least the other box survived no HD of course.

Josh 

Tampa

0 Likes
Reply
cademetz
Newbie

IMG 1.7 is a monumental failure in my house.

STB: QIP7216 with Home Media enabled

TV: Insignia NS-LCD26A connected via HDMI

Problem: Once I turn off the STB and TV, the STB goes into an endless reboot loop:

- Turn off TV and STB

- After ~15 seconds, the STB's front display shows all 8s
- After ~5 seconds, front display goes blank with blinking orange light near the top center of the display (above and slightly left of the record light)
- This Light blinks for  ~10 seconds and I hear the power converter (I assume) click and the unit turns totally off
- After ~10 seconds I hear the power converter click and the display shows all dashes momentarily and then 8s again and the process repeats... and repeats... and repeats.... and repeats....   you get the idea.

When it is in the reboot loop, scheduled recordings are not executed (no surprise, it's rebooting constantly) and the unit is not accessible via the FiOS TV Central Website (again no surprise).

Attempted troubleshooting fixes:

- Unplugged the STB for 15 seconds -- didn't fix anything

- Rebooted the STB via In-Home agent - didn't fix anything

- Unplugged the STB for 1 minute - didn't fix anything

- Called support, walked through automated troubleshooting and effectively repeated the process - didn't fix anything

- Used Chat Support who did an 'intrusive reboot' which would erase all settings, recordings, etc -- didn't fix anything

Doing some basic troubleshooting on my own, and discussing this on the FiOS forums at DSLReports, this seems to be a HDMI issue -- I am NOT the only one having the EXACT same issue. Some notes:

- If the STB is turned off, but the TV is left on, no issues

- If the STB and TV are off and I unplug the HDMI cable from the TV, no issues

Just finished with chat support, sending me a new box. Also, whatever they did screwed up my HD channels... ARGH (EDIT, Double ARGH, everything but the local stations are not working). We'll see if it is a software or hardware problem by Wednesday -- unless of course, UPS gets scared off by a few inches of snow!

Any chance I can downgrade back to 1.6??????  PRETTY PLEASE????

0 Likes
Reply
Thor--
Newbie

How can I get 1.7?

I have 1.6 and have some odd problems, so I am hoping 1.7 fixes them.  Maybe my STB is bad?

Sometimes I get audio out of sync.  Using pause/play sometimes fixes this.  Or rewind,FF.

Sometimes I get choppy video, live of recorded.  Unplugging power for 10 seconds fixes this.

Almost never, but sometime the show gets pixellated if whilewatching live I hit pause then play.  If I then hit record and watch from the recorded copy, same results.  If I change channels a few times and go back, it is normal.  I know this is not a signal problem because it only happens when I go from live to pause or rewind then watch from there.

It crashed once.  I think it rebooted without my help, but not sure anymore.

It seems to work better it I pull the power for 10 seconds every day or so.  Must be Winblows based?  On that subject, anyone know what OS is in the thing?

Thanks.

0 Likes
Reply
filmjoy
Newbie

Help. Just got the IMG 1.7 upgrade. We have a QIP-7216 and not only is the Guide text stretched now, the Closed Captions are stretched! I tried going to the On-Screen menu setup and all seems same. Is there a fix for this?

0 Likes
Reply