Verizon policy regarding "used" equipment
JonLCampbell

I'm a very loyal Verizon customer - I have FiOS, as well as 5 Verizon Wireless phones. But I am dismayed at Verizon's public policy of not activating or allowing the use of set top boxes from the "used" market. Yes, of course I understand Verizon's position: they are Verizon's property (forever) even though they typically have been paid for many times over in rental fees and non-return fees. I believe it would be in Verizon's interest to change this policy, and below is a letter I sent to Verizon management about it. I sent it to Roy Chestnutt, VP of Strategy for the company.

Hello, Mr. Chestnutt,

I am a retired software engineer, and in retirement I help people with technical issues.

And one of the big issues I've encountered is the "used" market of Verizon cable equipment (that is, equipment left behind and Verizon compensated by equipment non-return fees).

Verizon's current policy is to never allow this equipment to be used again. I think this policy is counterproductive - and it ignores a huge profit opportunity for the company.

The country is literally awash with this perfectly operational equipment. Allowing people to activate this equipment - at the rate of $5.99 per month that Verizon currently charges for a Motorola Cable Card for a Tivo - would bring in millions of dollars in revenue, and literally cost the company nothing. No cable card, no set top box, and no responsibility for repair or maintenance.

As an experiment - and to learn more about the issue - I recently purchased one of these "aftermarket" cable boxes - a Cisco 335HDC - online for $35. I tested it on my current Verizon cable service, and it works perfectly (according to its internal diagnostics). But - obviously - it cannot be activated, because Verizon will not activate previously used equipment.