How to get Verizon to really look into the issue?
archita_19

I am a graduate student who has to connect to multiple VPNs to do my work. From the past two weeks, whenever I am on my home network I am unable to do so. My request times out. I thought the problem could be with my laptop settings (which I had not changed), so I went to my friend's house to try it but it worked. The next thing I tried was to get my friend's laptop home and try it on her laptop -- still didn't work. Both the laptops use different operating systems (OSX and Linux). The next question to be answered was if my university was refusing my IP address. To check this I tried connecting to some other university's VPN -- still didn't work. Tried the same thing at my friend's place -- it worked. I also tried using my Mobile data by creating a hotspot and connecting to it with my laptop and things worked.

In short -- two different laptops with two different OS can connect to two different VPNs at my friend's place but not mine. As any sensible person would deduce -- problem with my network. So I called Verizon. After transferring my call 4-5 times and then talking to me for 2 hours, they told me -- "Sorry it is not the problem at our end. Wait for some days for the IP address to be renewed (I do not know what this means), and try again". So as an abiding customer, I waited.