Connection speed on Wireless Network Connection
xmarine503
Enthusiast - Level 2

I have the 50/25 package that I have no problems with on my wired computer. The speed tests always show a little better than the 50/25 speeds that I am offered. However, on my second computer with a Wireless Network Connection, my speeds have been cut in half showing maybe a 25 upload speed, and an 18 download speed. Is this something that is considered normal, or, should I start looking for connection issues ? I'm new to Verizon, and need a little advise if anyone can help ?

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Connection speed on Wireless Network Connection
jumpin68ny
Master - Level 2

Verizon FIOS does offer an upgrade (for a fee of course) to an 802.11N router.  This will give you the speeds on wireless LAN.  If you do a lot of local network stuff (music, access lots of files, etc) you may benefit from the upgrade to 802.11N. If all you are doing is surfing the internet then you would probably not notice much of a difference.

Jim

View solution in original post

smith6612
Community Leader
Community Leader

What router and revision of router did Verizon supply you with? Also, what wireless card does your computer use? The speeds you're running at suggest you've got a Wireless G connection.

jumpin68ny
Master - Level 2

What you are seeing is normal with wireless LAN regardless of what wireless LAN router you have.  Even though your connection on wireless may say 54 meg, there is overhead and other factors that will drop the real speed of wireless LAN from 54 meg to an average of 22 meg.  The only way around this is to buy an 802.11N wireless LAN router/AP. 

Jim

xmarine503
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hi,

Looks like it's the M1424WR Router, and a Linksys / Cisco AE1200 Wireless N USB Adapter.

0 Likes
xmarine503
Enthusiast - Level 2

Thank you !

I can't really say that I am having problems with these speeds...I was only curious 🙂

0 Likes
jumpin68ny
Master - Level 2