Just gotten Fios but the router isn't working like it supposed to
Chemilla
Enthusiast - Level 1

so i just gotten Fios almost a week ago 300/300. I have my desktop plugged in through ethernet through the Fios router and the YouTube or other streaming services are kinda slow loading. I brought new cables all cat 7 and still didn't make a difference. I took the router out of the equation and everything seem to working fine straight from the ont. I reset the router every time but evenly it just stops working. I had tech look at it and they say it fine but I'm also a technician and this is not okay. DO anyone has a an idea or should i just bring my own router

0 Likes
Re: Just gotten Fios but the router isn't working like it supposed to
gs0b
Community Leader
Community Leader

Does your computer have an Intel Ethernet chip?  If so, go into Device Manager (Windows), and disable both IPv6 TCP checksum offload and IPv6 UDP checksum offload.  That'll fix the problem.

Cang_Household
Community Leader
Community Leader

If you have considered you need new cables, have you checked whether you need new network interface cards or, better yet, new computers? Intel made revisions to their NICs and cards made after circa. 2021 do not need to go through the adjustment given by gs0b.

Sometimes the NICs is part of the computer motherboard. To get an updated and better NIC, a new motherboard will be required.

Chemilla
Enthusiast - Level 1

i did that already and it didn't work

0 Likes
Chemilla
Enthusiast - Level 1

So just do a new build....that's ridiculous 

0 Likes
gs0b
Community Leader
Community Leader

@Chemilla wrote:

i did that already and it didn't work

Did what?  There are several suggestions in this thread, so it's not clear which one you tried.

Have you confirmed what Ethernet chip is in your computer?  Can you share?

You also haven't mentioned the router model, that can be helpful.

Remember, all we know is what you tell us.  More details are better.

Chemilla