Data options for studying abroad
CHLWIL62

So I'm studying abroad in England for the next 6 months, and was wondering what the best option would be to have access to data? I won't need to call or text much, just having access to data in case I get lost would be nice. I know TravelPass is an option, but it'd get a bit pricey if I'm going to be there for 6 months... So I was wondering if there was an alternative that would work better?

0 Likes
Re: Data options for studying abroad
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

Get a prepaid SIM card from the local carrier.

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

0 Likes
vzw_customer_support
Customer Service Rep

CHLWIL62, we appreciate you reaching out to us to discuss your travel options. Staying connected while you’re abroad is always important and we want to ensure that you have the right plan to suit your needs. Will you have access to Wi-Fi during your trip? Are you planning to use calls, texts, and data just in case of an emergency or if you get lost? Planning to be gone for six months is quite a long time; however we want to ensure you have the best plans available. You can review all the plan options we carry for England on our Trip Planner at https://www.verizonwireless.com/solutions-and-services/international/

SamanthaT_VZW

Follow us on Twitter @VZWSupport

If my response answered your question please click the _Correct Answer_ button under my response. This ensures others can benefit from our conversation. Thanks in advance for your help with this!

0 Likes
mama23dogs
Legend

I agree with Ann, there is no roaming plan that is economical.  Your Verizon phone is unlocked, use a local SIM card.

0 Likes
rcschnoor
Legend