Data usage with Verison 4G LTE hotspot
Butterstories
Enthusiast - Level 2

This situation has put a strain on my marriage; my husband has not changed his computer habits, so he looks to me for a reason to our problem!  We live in the boonies and are totally reliant on our MiFi.  I am a writer/researcher, and my husband is a "working" retired professional.  We were frustrated with slow downloads and frequently having to reset our unit.  Verizon suggested we upgrade from our four-year old MiFi 4GLTE to the Jetpack 4GLTE to get better reception--and "...based on our previous usage, 10 gig should be sufficient."  We did this...and began running through the gigs.  A visit to Verizon had me combining the account for my IPhone and my husband's flip phone (with no privileges other than send/receive), with the new Jetpack, into one account, so that the under-used units on the phones could compensate for the over-usage on the Jetpack....the idea was that they could "borrow" from each other.  That didn't help and we were hit with a barrage of notices about being at 75% used...and immediately 80%, and before I could even check the situation out...we were over and being charged 1 gig at $15.  I complained to my IT-smart son, and he suggested that if our new smart-TV were hooked to the Internet--perhaps downloads to that were causing the problem.  Got instructions from DirectTV and removed the automatic connection ability; haven't used our notebook since it was hooked to the old MiFi; do not watch movies, do not play games, only have our system files on automatic updates (Windows, Security, etc.) as before...we still were going through practically a gig a day, and now had used up the gigs with 10 days to go for the period! Went back to Verizon...got hooked up to an IPhone app to check usage daily...and all I see is the gigs passing on by. We upped our plan to 20 gig (backdated eight days so we wouldn't have to pay two overages ($30 for 2 gig) and since we stream NOTHING, only hav