Safety mode with MiFi device after shared data limit is reached like on my phone, or will I be billed for additional data?
Mitchell1992
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello,

I am a university student and I bought a MiFi device and I am sure its going to be VERY useful for being able to get out there more and do my studies at more locations.

I updated my plan today to the 12GB shared plan, with the safety mode and keeping of unused data.

I have the understanding that once the 12GB is being utilized, my phone will go into safety mode and continue to operate at drastically reduced speeds.

Being that it is a shared data plan for the 12GB, once the data cap of 12GB is being reached, will the MiFi device as well just go and operate at a drastically reduced speed, or being that it is a MiFi device, will I automatically be billed for additional data?

If the MiFi device is going to go into safety mode, do I need to change a setting somewhere to specify that I want it to go into safety mode and operate at reduced speed instead of occurring extra data charges, or will it do this automatically?

Or am I mistaken and the MiFi device is not included with the safety mode feature to operate at reduced speeds without occurring extra cost?

Input is greatly appreciated.

0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Safety mode with MiFi device after shared data limit is reached like on my phone, or will I be billed for additional data?
Weth
Legend

Safety mode is per shared plan not per device. As long as you have Safety Mode turned on for your plan (which you can do from your primary phone), it will apply to any device on the shared account. When you reach 12 GB, any shared device will be slowed down to 128 kbps (which is very slow), but there will not be any overage charges. There is no limit to how much slow data you can use.

View solution in original post

Re: Safety mode with MiFi device after shared data limit is reached like on my phone, or will I be billed for additional data?
Weth