Free ways to make Kin more useful and entertaining
Dccellular
Enthusiast - Level 2

Reading through the forum, it seems most of us got the Kin because we did not want to pay for the $29.99 a month data plan.  In that same frugal spirit, I don't want to pay for a Zune pass or any other kind of service that costs money.  I was hoping that folks would share tips/tricks/sites that enrich the Kin experience for free or almost free. 

Since, I live in a metropolitan area, I ride public transportation to and from work.  This gives me almost two hours of unoccupied time for my Kin Twom to keep me entertained.  I'm no techie.  So please forgive my tips for being so basic.

So far, I have been enjoying audio books, movies, and music that I've downloaded legally and at no cost from the following sites:

Free Audio Books

http://librivox.org/  - At LibriVox, volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain (aged past the terms of the copyright) into digital audio (eg. mp3), and then make the audio files available to the world, for free.  You download the mp3 files from the site to your computer's zune music folder and then load onto your Kin through Zune.

Free movies

http://www.classicfreemoviedownloads.com/ - This site has a rotating list of movies in the public domain.  You download the mp4 files from the site onto your computer's zune video folder and then load onto your Kin through Zune.  I've just downloaded "The Lady Vanishes" (1938)

Free Music

http://www.artistdirect.com/music/free-downloads - This site is sponsored by Virgin Atlantic records and lets you download music from emerging artists for free.  You download the .mp3 to your computer's Zune music folder. Note: only some of the music on the site is free.  So don't get confused and actually purchase.

0 Likes
Re: Free ways to make Kin more useful and entertaining
SydneyK
Master - Level 3
Thanks for sharing your resources, Dccellular!
0 Likes
Dccellular
Enthusiast - Level 2

Hello All,