upgrading kin for FREE help
zachkinjo

I recently received a letter from Verizon stating that I am able "To Upgrade my Kin to any 3g smart phone for FREE".  I'm curious to know why none of the Verizon stores have no Idea what I am talking about when I ask them about this, and if this is true about Kin users being able to trade their Kin in for a new phone for free.

0 Likes
Re: upgrading kin for FREE help
fisharefriends
Contributor - Level 3

I am assuming you are an owner of the 'old' Kin? With the studio, spot, online backup, etc? Because that phone wasn't a big success (in fact, it was a failure..less than 60,000 units sold), my guess is they are trying to move those owners to 'regular' smartphones, and between microsoft and verizon, are going to shut down the kin studio online service sometime soon. They don't want to just cut off service to those 60,000 owners, and i'm no lawyer, but i'm assuming they are under contract to provide that service, so the only way they can avoid a large settlement is to have all the users willingly switch from that phone and then close down the service. Or they could possibly just be closing down the service soon anyways, no contractual agreements looming, and just giving out hte free phones as a 'customer support brownie points' deal. After all, they make near nothing for the 1-time purchase of phones and devices; from each customer, they make more a month than half of those devices do with their up-front cost. But i am not bashing on Verizon, they do have the best service out of any of the providers out there. This is purely speculation, though. For actual facts, perhaps try contacting verizon directly (and getting a tier II, tier III rep, not just a salesman), or if you go to a store, bring the letter with you.

They have since released the Kin Onem and Kin Twom as feature phones, with the studio, spot, social networking features removed.  Most of the topics on this board are now talking about those phones.