Skip to main content
Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
MILITARY-CURRENTLY DEPLOYED AND HAVING PROBLEMS
lauryn1

Hello, I am Cpl Lauryn Powell and I'm Active duty in the United States Marine Corps and currently deployed overseas as of December 2020. My husband is also Active duty in the United States Marine Corps. This is my first time being deployed. Before deploying, I spoke to Verizon representatives about the steps I needed to take in order to still use my phone and spend the least amount of money. I was told turning off the Cellular data, connecting to Wifi and being put on the "PAY AS YOU GO" International Service Plan option would set me up for success financially. All of those steps were taken. " PAY AS YOU GO" was turned on the day I arrived in Spain, 28 December 2020. I was never explained the difference between PAY AS YOU GO and the Travel $10/day Pass and failed to be informed that the Travel Pass would be the smartest option. About ten to fourteen days later, we received our December phone bill and were very astonished by the amount that we were being charged which was $1400. Not sure if this is known but the Military hardly makes Minimum Wage.
On January 11th 2021, I called Verizon with concerns about the bill. The representative that I spoke to, assured me that the charges were not valid and an investigation would be started. Seven days later, I was notified that the international charges were accurate. December's billing cycle had International charges that accumulated over a ten day period.