Skip to main content
Accessibility Resource Center Skip to main content
Have a phone you love? Get up to $500 when you bring your phone.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Scammed me out of my hard earned discounts
jaylahadley

I am beyond upset at this point. I have been with Verizon for about 10 years whether with my mothers plan prior to me being 18 and on my own plan after that. I always felt they offered the best service for a decent price and customer service was their #1, which is important to me. When I was 17 I enlisted in the military and while I was in I received a discount on my bill (20%). I always had to renew my discount annually and never had any issues up until I got out in 2013. Since then, Verizon has been nothing but a nightmare. I was under the assumption that as a veteran I would still get some sort of discount and when I attempted to validate they no longer allowed me to receive my discount. I talked to many different people both on the phone and when I was asked to bring paperwork into a store I talked to the reps there. They continued to tell me that only active duty military receives discounts and I was not eligible. Although I do not agree with that I assumed that was there way of saving money. Well come to find out this whole time I could have been getting the discount and they simply lied to me and never submitted my DD-214 that I gave to them. Its been about 2 and 1/2 years now and this whole time while I was struggling to transition from military to civilian both financially and emotionally, I could have had my discount. That would have helped me out a lot when I was late paying my bill die to unemployment on 2013 or when I had to file bankruptcy in 2015 and this whole time I feel that Verizon turned a blind eye knowing they were basically hiding my discount from me. I feel like a was scammed, actually, I know I was scammed. After reading all these discussion boards with similar stories I feel even worse. I