Why is my Network Extender not working with new modem?
Cambam
Enthusiast - Level 1

Several days ago my old router quit working.  I had been using a separate modem and router.  Comcast came out and gave me a Gateway router/modem combination.  While my Network Extender worked with my previous configuration until the router died, I cannot get it to work with this new modem.  All of the lights are blue, but my phone will not switch to Network Extender coverage most of the time.  Every once in awhile it does, so I know it's possible.  I have been through the whole trouble shooting process given to me by tech support with no change. Has anyone else had trouble with the Gateway?  Is it better to have a separate router and modem and connect to the router?  I am not tech savvy, AT ALL........

Labels (1)
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Network Extender not working with new modem
Cambam
Enthusiast - Level 1

So, I did a bunch of reading on forums and one thing I gleaned was to make sure Advanced Calling was turned off. I did that, and now it seems to be working fine. For such an easy thing to try, I’m surprised that is never mentioned in the trouble shooting guide to the Extender.

Thanks for the other info. I am going to look into a separate modem and router.

Happy New Year

View solution in original post

John_Getzke
Champion - Level 1

> Is it better to have a separate router and modem and connect to the router?  I am not tech savvy, AT ALL........