Re: No voicemail notification
AzCoronaDog
Enthusiast - Level 1

BosnMate's answer worked for me. 

I have been writing software for a living for 38 years and I cannot imagine a less intuitive solution!

Thank you BosnMate for posting this (and Google for finding it)!

hindmanm
Enthusiast - Level 1

Totally worked. Thanks for the tip. Sad thing is we are now in March 2018 and Verizon customer service still unaware of this problem and corresponding fix.

sb89052
Enthusiast - Level 2

Thanks. Saved a dreaded call to Verizon (so called support)

FRED_W
Enthusiast - Level 1

Agree AZ,

In my case I found out that the reason why I had to change the block status options is that Verizon set me up with a free trial of Visual Voice mail which apparently needs to have this block option turned off to work. When the trial expired I refused it due to it's cost. Then I no longer got notifications.  I can't say Verizon does makes this a deliberate obscure feature deliberately in hopes you buy this extra feature, but it would not put it past them. Then, again, I have never seen any software they do done well, including this website.

JBENCCA
Enthusiast - Level 1

Thanks BosnMate. Per your instructions, I am now getting voicemail notifications on my unlocked phone. As someone else pointed out, you can't turn off both, but turning off the Basic option worked.

It took some poking around to find this solution. Verizon should put this information on their Voicemail FAQ page.

JIMFR
Enthusiast - Level 1

Setting Visual Voice Mail to Blocked state didn't work for me. Upgraded from Version S5 with Visual Voice Mail.  Had to call verizon today, go through over 1.5 hours of level 1 and 2 support who had no idea how to solve it.  I finally told them to change my voice mail from IMS visual voice mail to just plain IMS.    Then I called from another phone and left a new voice mail, even though I had a few unheard voice mails waiting from earlier today.  Solved: VM icon now appears correctly.