Wifi calling quit working in airplane mode!
CaneBranch

My Wi-Fi calling in airplane mode has quit working, it was working as late as Monday. I live in a spotty area for cell coverage and rely on Wi-Fi calling frequently. The only way it works well is if you go to airplane mode and then cut Wi-Fi on. I have used this for years and all of a sudden now when I make a call it says airplane mode must be turned off. If the airplane mode is turned off then it tries to make a call through a poor cellular connection and will not call through Wi-Fi. Please help. 

PS. I have tried all the faq's and fixes posted on this community board and none have worked. Obviously something was changed with an update because again I have been using this for many years and now it's gone.

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Wifi calling quit working in airplane mode!
vtime35

I have recently been experiencing the same problem with multiple samsung phones. Airplane mode/wifi is the standard method of mobile phone use in my household as we do not receive
a reliable verizon signal at my residence. It has worked great for years until now. In airplane mode with wifi enabled a call will not complete and a message is displayed "Turn off airplane mode to complete this call?" Also text messages cannot be sent or received in airplane mode with wifi.
Other services such as email, apps, web browsing seem to work as usual in airplane and wifi enabled. The strange thing is the phone works fine during the morning until the later part of
the afternoon and then will not work properly until the next morning. I have verified all of our phones have the same problem on wifi networks at other locations so it definitely is not caused by my network infrastructure / internet service provider. The problem first started on 5/27/21 and has continued until 6/4/21.  Hoping someone from verizon will take the initiative to resolve this difficult problem.

0 Likes
log_dogg2007
Enthusiast - Level 1