4G connection problems (hardware issue?)
mr_gadget

I am very new to my Nexus (about a week), but not new to Androids (owned around 6 of them).

Fresh out of the box at 4.0.2, I could hardly keep phone calls and my wireless data was almost non-existent.  <Content deleted per the TOS>  My wife's RAZR is just awesome everywhere, so it isn't a bad signal area.  This bad 4G, of course, causes my battery to drain within hours.  So, I am forced to run with 3G-only, which works great, but, then I am missing the entire 4G experience.

<Content deleted per the TOS>, and my wife's phone is doing great, I am wondering if this is a hardware issue?

Message was edited by: Verizon Moderator

0 Likes
Re: 4G connection problems (hardware issue?)
GaryWHolland
Enthusiast - Level 2

I'm going to go out on a limb here but I'd say the phone is the problem. I had a Thunderbolt prior to upgrading to the GNex and it was a solid performer when it came to 4g. My GNex is suffering from the same issues that yours is, random reboots, inability to hold the 4g signal, poor battery life. I'm checking my battery usage this evening and other than a couple of text messages and about 2 or 3 minutes on FaceBook I'm at 23% in 3h 42m 19s. I mean that is just plain old BS if you ask me. I've only hinted at Verizon about these problems in a couple of calls and so far I've been told to reboot the phone, pull the battery and sim card and then reboot and finally to get a replacement sim card. I'm not sure how long to put up with this nonsense. Rumors abound on the internet that Google will be updating the firmware on these phones to 4.04 or 4.05 depending on who you believe and that this will take care of all of these issues. I'm not going to hold my breath!

0 Likes
peabodyman

It is a hardware problem.  Get a replacement.

0 Likes
Zio