Use internet and phone at same time?
MiMeQu21
Contributor - Level 3
I am new to smartphones, so I was hoping someone could help me. I was using my Samsung Fascinate phone yesterday when I also tried to use the internet. The phone call got disconnected. Is there a way to surf the internet while being on the phone? I figured with a phone as advanced as this, you should be able to do both. Do I need to access the wi-fi to get on the net, or can I use the 3G for both the phone and web? I would appreciate any help.
0 Likes
1 Solution

Correct answers
Re: Use internet and phone at same time?
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

MiMeQu21 wrote:
I am new to smartphones, so I was hoping someone could help me. I was using my Samsung Fascinate phone yesterday when I also tried to use the internet. The phone call got disconnected. Is there a way to surf the internet while being on the phone? I figured with a phone as advanced as this, you should be able to do both. Do I need to access the wi-fi to get on the net, or can I use the 3G for both the phone and web? I would appreciate any help.

Verizon and therefore the Samsung Fascinate uses CDMA wireless technology.  It is not possible to be on the internet and phone at the same time with CDMA with a 3G connection.  In order to use the internet and make phone calls at the same time, you need to be connected to wifi.  Cell carriers AT&T and T-mobile uses GSM which allows data and phone at the same time.

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

MiMeQu21 wrote: