Verizon store installing Jelly Bean on Galaxy Nexus?
jford32

I am not good with software and I feel like I'd mess it up because I'm not good with <Deleted>. Would I be able to bring in my galaxy nexus to a verizon store and have them install Jelly Bean onto it?

<Post edited to comply with the .>

Message was edited by: Verizon Moderator

0 Likes
Re: Verizon store installing Jelly Bean on Galaxy Nexus?
jreger
Enthusiast - Level 2

Unfortunately no, Jelly Bean will not be pushed out Over the Air until later, but if you keep you eye on the Android Blogs or twitter feeds, they will tell you when its on it way.  However, that is if VZW and Google play nice and let Google push it directly to you. 

>Post edited to comply with VZW ToS. Discussions concerning rooting/jailbreaking/hacking are not permitted on this forum<

Message was edited by: Verizon Moderator

0 Likes
wkavan02
Contributor - Level 1

Any Android device bearing the Nexus moniker is supposed to be a Google Experience Device, which means that it has a stock version of Android (i.e. what Google designed Android to be without any skins, bloatware, etc.) and that it gets the latest Android updates ASAP, so long as the hardware is powerful enough to run the latest version.

In the past year or so, however, this formula has become convoluted by the carriers and a little bit by the manufacturers too. This has been evidenced with the delays on the Nexus S update with Sprint, and with the ICS delays on the Galaxy Nexus.

A year ago, you would've been 100% certain that your Nexus device would be getting the newest Android OS as soon as Google deemed fit, but now, any semblance of certainty has been lost in the dank mire of bloatware greed that makes a mid-2000's Dell computer look like an Apple.