I can happily alleviate the confusion! Messages are deleted after 40 days, unless saved/archived. Messages can be saved to "My Sounds" or to your External Memory. For details visit: http://bit.ly/yuPWbB . I hope this information is helpful. Please let me know if you have any additional question or concerns.
Thanks for your contribution to our community forums,
Follow us on twitter @VZWSupport