Aggravating Customer Service
JTS_HARLEY

TL;DR: The In-Store customer service is abysmal unless you are spending money there, then you're royalty.

Let me begin by saying I'm a 46 year old professional and have been a long time customer with Verizon.  I haven't made a claim since I've been a customer, prompt on payments and have multiple phones on my contract.  I take care of my property.

A month ago I bought a Pixel 2 xl.  Less than 24 hours later I had an issue with the volume button, it came out.  Now, I understand that is an incredibly odd thing to happen, and it could be misconstrued as incorrect usage, but as I pulled it out of my pocket to video my son receiving an award, it happened.  I could not find the volume button on the school bleachers and was at a loss.  I went to the Verizon store approx. 22.5 hours after my purchase, where, the day before, I was treated like royalty with an account that was in incredibly good standing, only to be told that I needed to contact Google as Verizon wouldn't be replacing the phone, or work with me in any way to simply get a button.  It was stated that one of the Reps there had that phone and it had never happened to them AND there was only one Reddit post with this issue on the internet and it didn't have many upvotes at all.  I was also told that IF they were to do anything, I would receive a refurbished phone at best as mine was now "not in good working condition".  This was less than 24 hours after my purchase.  No claims in 13+ years, good standing, current payments for that time, multiple large purchases, refurb at best....  It was also suggested to me that I should look on eBay to see if they sold a button there.  OK, I lost the button, it's on me,  I will acquiesce and deal with an unpleasant experience.