Re: Data plans and Data usage
rcschnoor
Legend

ar9090 wrote:

These are not juveniles we are talking about. They are young adult professionals and I work in the industry. Set the caps on apps all you want. We have our devices set never to use data resources.

And yet you get overages and we don't. Go figure.

The people on my plan are not "juveniles" either. There are no data caps set on any of the lines. We simply stay under our monthly allowance. Of course, the 2 people on my account who are young adults never had overages when they were "juveniles", either.

I don't set "caps on apps". I check the settings so items don't auto download unless on wifi or manually downloaded. Items don't backup unless on wifi or manually backed up. I play music stored on the phone, no streaming. I watch videos stored on the phone, no streaming. Of course, towards the end of the month when I have several GB of data allowance still available, I will stream several hours of WatchESPN or the Golf Channel to get close to my data allowance.

Of course, you can go right ahead and continue with your overages instead of taking precautions to prevent them, doesn't matter to me. It's funny, though, how the people who take precautions are normally not the ones complaining about overages but instead are the ones who seem to wave off such precautions and go directly to blaming Verizon. Not to mention that many of the people who can't seem to keep from getting overages always seem to "work in the industry".

pherson
Champion - Level 1

My guess is, if they "worked in the industry " there wouldn't be an issue to begin with. I agree with you.

Weth
Legend

ar9090 wrote:

have had cellular data and wifi assistant in settings turned off since we got our phones. We still see data usage even though we are not hitting any cell towers or there mtso with data pulls.