Re: [Resolved!] Verizon Wireless -> Google Voice Number Porting
jova33

I just started the porting process 6 hours ago, so I can't claim success yet. The only thing I'm curious about is, VZW has unlimited calling to VZW members. If I have all calls to made using GV, will it use my minutes to call other VZW members, or will it still count as in network calling?

0 Likes
Not applicable

Calls made to your Google Voice number will use Verizon minutes.  That's one of the major drawbacks of using GV.  I also started missing a lot of calls, so I stopped using my GV number except for text.

0 Likes
jova33

Well I did an AOL and acquired an unlimited data plan. I already have an account on Verizon and a number I've been using for 6 years. So since I can't just put my number onto the unlimited plan, I'm trying to use GV as an in between thing. Port my number to GV, and then port my number to the unlimited data line. This should work, right?

I'll just put a basic phone on my old account and use it for upgrades.

0 Likes
Not applicable

You should be able to do that, but you might have to wait until the unlimited data line of service is out of contract if it's not already.

0 Likes
jova33

Porting number to Google Voice was successful. 24 hours exact. Now time to port my number back to Verizon lol

0 Likes
zenunwired
Enthusiast - Level 1

Joined the community to thank the OP - and to add in another success story. Before I start my 'experience share', I think its pertinent to mention that I have the Galaxy S4 [Android]

1. Started the GV Port on Monday at about 3PM. Provided GV with personal details, phone number, billing PIN (you can set one up or change your current PIN on the VZW website after logging on to your account) and my account number (excluded the -00001 after my account number as suggested by other posters on this thread). Google charged me $20 to complete the port.