Re: No response from - pop.verizon.net - or - smtp.verizon.net -
Chief_Michael
Enthusiast - Level 2

I was on the phone last night with a customer service rep and her supervisor.  It was obvious that they had no idea what they were talking about, I wish their Customer Service was in the USA where you could understand what the heck they were saying and not India.  I was told that Verizon has killed the ability for MS Outlook to log into their POP3 server from the Internet, which I have been doing for over 10+ years.  They say you must be using the Verizon ISP network to use Outlook.  They onlly way to check email is with Webmail when you are not own the Verizon Network.  They swore this happened months ago but strange my wife's IPAD worked on the Cox.net last week and mine worked in a McDonaolds on Monday.

It still works on my ATT Smart Phone.  That blows the Verizon ISP explanation.

Has anyone else been fed this line {word filter avoidance}?

BudPalChief
Enthusiast - Level 3

I've been fed lots of lines, but still have the same problem.  Quickly, I used to have FiOS service, but moved to a place where Verizon is not offered as an ISP.  However, I kept my Verizon email I've had for 17 years.  Now when I call for help, I have no DSL or FiOS account, so technically, I don't exist and they can't check to see if I'm part of an outage or not...

I did get a tech who tried to help yesterday.  After 1.5 hours, she referred me to www.verizon.net/whitelist.  Asked me to have my ISP fill out this form to allow my IP address to be added to the list of allowed addresses.  I'll let you know if it works!

0 Likes
djb5
Contributor - Level 3

I'm wondering if anybody knows where on Verizon's Support site this problem is documented so others will be able to see it's a known issue. I continue to be stumped whenever I have a problem as to where to look for known issues to avoid wasting time trying to resolve problems.

0 Likes
limarie1
Enthusiast - Level 3