HTC One M8 Rapid Discharge
JetStream90

I've had this HTC One M8 Windows Phone for just about exactly 2 years now (coincidentally exactly when my contract expired.)  I've always had problems with the charge plummeting from 40% to 5-6% in an hour or less and causing my phone to turn off without me noticing.  However, just now i was distracted by it turning off after crashing to 5% from 76% in 1 hour (from 100% in 3 hours.) Even more alarming is the fact that, even with NOTHING running AND with it on standby (screen locked,) it was still very hot.  It felt literally almost as hot as a winter hand warmer pouch (if activated in a 77 degree house.)  I plugged it in, and guess what? The temperature dropped to normal!  Since the below pictured 10% measurement (actually 5%,) it's been about 50 minutes and it still hasn't recovered any charge past 15%.

Please respond with a reliable solution.  I am a Pilot, and this is my Only mobile phone, so it has to be fixed ASAP.

Steps to cause the issue: None, the screen was locked and no apps were loaded in the background.

Not likely to be battery defect because it's charging now, and not only is it not hotter than it was, but its actually much cooler than when the issue happened.  I suspect it was a Verizon software trigger since my contract expired 2 days ago to try to get me to renew for 2 more with a new phone.

wp_ss_20160908_0003.png

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: HTC One M8 Rapid Discharge
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

Have you tried different chargers or electrical outlets?

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

0 Likes
JetStream90