Is it worth waiting for 8.1? Should I just give up and DL dev preview? (Lumia Icon)
darney992

As we all know Verizon hasn't uttered a word about 8.1. In fact it looks like some of us may never even see the update. We know the HTC 8x is getting it but it looks like us Lumia Icon users may never see it as Verizon just discontinued it. (8x gets it icon doesn't wtf?) So what do you guys think, is it worth it to continue waiting or should I just say Fck it and download the dev preview?

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Is it worth waiting for 8.1? Should I just give up and DL dev preview? (Lumia Icon)
drako357
Enthusiast - Level 2

I am a developer and need to run 8.1 which I downloaded back in August and although initially there were some issues after several updates it has been running stable for the past month.  I do have some issues running Verizon's Navigator App, but overall I am very happy with the 8.1 Dev Preview.

0 Likes
Re: Is it worth waiting for 8.1? Should I just give up and DL dev preview? (Lumia Icon)
jdpg2
Enthusiast - Level 2

Personally I think its time to leave Verizon.  I have 4 phones on my plan (2 iPhone and 2 windows phones) with them and I was even thinking about making the switch to fios.  I purchased my 928 and icon (both now run the 8.1 dev preview)  with the expectation that they would be kept up to date in a reasonable time frame.  That hasn't happened and since 3 of my devices qualify for upgrades I will eat the cost on the 4th and make the switch. At this point a company that cant be honest and communicate with its users doesn't deserve my dollars. 

It appears AT&T supports the windows platform and are even expand their Windows offerings.  The only way to show Verizon that the windows phone community is serious is with our $$$$.  bye bye Verizon Smiley Sad.

primortal
Master - Level 1