Data usage at home...?
Placone

Hi I am new to the APPLE family and a new Verizon customer. We bought a pair of iPhone 4 - 8G's and are on the share plan of 4G until we figure out how much data we both use, according to the rep, that is how we should go in at first and then later upgrade our plans or down grade depending on usage. So my question is I went onto Verizon after my 1st day an noticed that I had text and data usage of 127.mb while at home. I am connected to WiFi at my home and should not be charged. It did not show me a charge but it did count the usage. I was using my Facetime connected with my son out of state (which I adore this feature by the way). Will I in cure this usage and be charged for it later and how will I know? Please advise!!

Also If I am always connected to Facebook, Words w/Friends and I am not on them just the same as any of my apps~ will I get charged for data usage away from WiFi? If so How do I keep this from happening?

NEW CUSTOMER

Pamela

Labels (1)
0 Likes
Re: Data usage at home...?
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader

When the phone is asleep (screen off), the WiFi radio will also go to sleep. This will cause the cellular data connection to become active and transfer data for email, Facebook, etc. To prevent this from happening, you can turn off the cellular data connection for those times you are going to connect to wifi for extended periods of time.

I'm most definitely NOT a VZW employee. If a post answered your question, please mark it as the answer.

0 Likes
Placone

How do you turn it off when you are NOT using the apps? For instance while I am at work...? Do I have to log in and out of Facebook so there is no data transferring away from a WiFi? I am still confused with you answer. Sorry please try and re explain how you turn off CELLULAR data?

0 Likes
Ann154
Community Leader
Community Leader